pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

3D and the movies

IMG_2169

So far, I’ve seen two movies in 3d–Up and as of last night, Avatar. While I enjoyed the novelty of the act, on the whole, I wasn’t terribly impressed by my glasses. Especially after 2 hrs and 40 min of Avatar, I had some considerable eye strain going on. I was rather distracted by non-3d crap I kept glimpsing out of my peripheral vision…and more importantly, the vast majority of the time, the 3d just seemed like a gimmick to me, rather than drawing me into the story. Heck, I keep enjoying the previews with the silly flying blades and balls that shoot out into the audience more than seeing a leaf in 3d on the screen during the feature. I mean, if I’m going to spend $15, I want a darn dog and pony show!

Speaking of which, Willow agrees with me.

What do you think?

Maybe I’ll eventually get used to it, but on the whole, I think it’s just another gimmick like surround sound–lots of money and gadgetry, but surprisingly little pay off.

IMG_2184

These glasses really help bring out the 3-dimensional aspects of that dog biscuit, Kirsten…

2 responses

  1. TRISH

    Oh, Willow….you never looked better! A regular canine scholar!

    December 18, 2009 at 4:52 pm

  2. Yeah, watching a movie in 3D is about 1/20th as cool as they make it look in the previews for 3D movies. Not sure it’s worth the extra money, and not sure how long this trend is going to last. That being said, I haven’t been bothered by any 3D movie I’ve seen so far. I enjoyed Coraline and Up, and recently I saw A Christmas Carol. Out of the 3, Coraline had the best 3d scene/sequence I’ve seen so far, in the beginning of the movie. worth an extra 5 bucks? Nah.

    December 19, 2009 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

