pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Verizon suckage

At the beginning of August, my wife and I moved out of Boalsburg, PA. Before we did, we called about canceling our highspeed-internet from Verizon. They told us that if we canceled before the end of August, we’d have to pay an early termination fee that far exceeded the remaining billing month we had left on our account. Which is total bunch of crap if you ask me, but fine, I’d play by their rules.

Needless to say, we decided to simply call back at the end of August–which I did, navigating the typical phone-system bureaucracy with aplomb for fifteen minutes before finally confirming that yes, I wanted to cancel all our high-speed services, and no, I had no need to transfer their service to my location. The experience was polite, but prolonged.

Fastforward. Last night, my wife and I realized Verizon had withdrawn two months of internet service fees since then for Sept and Oct. Clearly something was up.

I call them, first thing this morning. After being bounced between four different customer service representatives, I was finally told that they had no record of my August phone call. Would I like to transfer their service?

Photo 104

Long story short, I didn’t find the confirmation number of my first call in time to irrefutably prove I had already canceled the service (btw, at no point did they ask for such a number–it’s only after I insisted on proof of the current phone that they gave me one for the conversation I was having). I’m not even sure the first call in August gave me a confirmation number…so today, it became my word against theirs. The whole thing was rather amusing, in a nasty we’re trying to nickel-and-dime-ya sort of way. Only the nickel-and-dimes added up to $100 bucks. Which is a fair amount of groceries.

Did I get any of my money back? No. And in a way, I blame myself (which is pretty pathetic, if you really think about it). But you bet I’m now going to look in all my files for a confirmation number for my phone call in August, and if I find it, they’re getting another phone call.

Moral of the story: when you call tech support, make sure you get lots of evidence that a). you called them and b). what was discussed.

Oh, and Verizon customer service sucks.

4 responses

  1. Laura

    Verizon is bad news. It’s a good thing we have never had to deal with them in Lititz.

    October 21, 2009 at 7:09 am

    • Maybe I should look back through my cell-phone records to prove I called them? By the time i got to the last customer service agent, he was mumbling, talking in a low voice, and definitely unhelpful. I had to keep asking him to repeat what he was saying.

      I know I’m being a little over the top here, but the experience was truly frustrating. Above all else, it was just abysmally bad customer service.

      And guess who is going to be shopping for a new cell-phone soon? I know one provider I won’t be looking at…

      October 21, 2009 at 12:38 pm

  2. archer

    Don’t they keep a record of the phone calls you made? Couldn’t you show them in their phone calling records that you called them on the August date?

    I had a problem in college where they were charging me mega amounts of money for “extra minutes” when I had previously switched to an unlimited plan. They claimed that I never switched to an unlimited plan, and the bill was like over $300. I kept calling and calling them, talking to a new representative each time, telling them my story, and then they finally took it off my bill.

    Be the persistent widow with the judge! If you keep asking and bugging, they might finally hear you.

    October 23, 2009 at 9:30 am

  3. Comcast and I had a similar epic one-and-a-half month clash during the summer.

    To my pleasant surprise, I’ve discovered that AT&T Wireless has probably the best customer service I’ve come across in a long time. In my month of experience with them, anyway.

    November 4, 2009 at 4:56 pm

Leave a Reply

