pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

I have returned!

So said MacArthur. Whether I would be better off sticking to his first proclamation is yet to be seen…

Sixty hour work weeks killed my posting.

But I got a new lens, for a (freakin’ awesome) wedding I’m shooting next weekend. Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8, for those interested. Next up, the 30mm f/1.8 and the 70-200mm f/2.8. Anyone else want something shot?

And that new acquisition makes me excited.

Not to mention that I’m between part-time jobs…so with only my regular forty hr, I had a bit of time this week.

IMG_5978

IMG_5983

IMG_5991

IMG_6016

IMG_6009

IMG_6056

IMG_6067

IMG_6114

IMG_6122

The difference between this and my old lens is already freakin’ amazing. I adjusted some light levels on two of these pictures and converted the one to BW….and that is all, which is amazing me.

Glass makes all the difference.

In quick movie blurb…

Lars and the Real Girl–terribly awkward to explain (and watch, initially) but terribly funny as a result. In a sincere, heart-felt kind of way, a la Juno. I agree with critics who herald the church/community aspect as the most redeeming part of the film, far above and beyond any metamorphosis in Lars himself. I highly recommend it.

In music, the new Hammock is out–and they’re a band I cannot get enough of.

Sixpence is making new music. Which is good. But they’re featuring more songs from Leigh, whose voice I grew up loving…but past experience with her lyric ability makes me grow dubious (with the exception of the great song off the self-titled). Both Sixpence and OTR continue making noises about being less literary and less esoteric. Newsflash: that’s why we love you, guys. Keep the musical, lyric, and artistic exploration and allusion going, or this is one hardcore fan, at least, who will continue to put your latest releases on the bottom shelf with much chagrin. And tears. I’m not asking for sad songs, or that you deny where you are in life or your true artistic self, (etc), but please. Pretty please.

Finally, in light of Myanmar, I strongly recommend the old favorite, Feed the Children
.

3 responses

  1. jess

    yay for posting! and expensive camera lenses on sale!

    May 31, 2008 at 9:36 pm

  2. Katie

    man…awesome picture quality! I guess it helps when you have some beautiful people to photograph…your wife and your sister!!!

    June 3, 2008 at 7:59 pm

  3. mumsers

    Nice haircut.
    :)

    June 3, 2008 at 9:45 pm

Leave a Reply

