pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

cheapening the vote–WTF of the day #56

Riding in my work truck each day, I spend a lot of time listening to the radio (while I wait and pray for an mp3 player…)

As you probably already know, a bunch of conservative talk-show hosts (that I won’t even bother naming) are advocating registering with the Democrats in order to vote in such a manner that it screws up their election.

WTF??!!

I have some friends that have done this.

I find it simply astounding. What are people thinking??

For years, I’ve heard many of these same friends complain to no small end about how screwed up this country is…how duplicitous and misleading our “liberal” leaders are…how twisted and unethical politicians have become…

And now people are advocating and enacting the same tactics they profess to deplore. I find this deeply disturbing. What are they thinking?

This isn’t a board game.

Darn it all, this isn’t a game! Period.

Anyone who upholds the Constitution believes that the right to vote is an important, honorable act. I’ve heard conservatives wax poetic time after time about how vital a necessity the act of voting is. I’ve heard them proclaim with religious fervor how it distinguishes us from the rest of the world.

Why are people even contemplating cheapening something they claim to hold so dear? It boggles my mind.

As a Christian, I would go so far as to say that casting a false vote is pretty darn near to lying (yeah, I pretty much think it IS lying). I don’t care if it’s for the primaries or the real thing, whether it’s for the local food tasting board or the President of the United States. I don’t care if it’s for the Republicans or Democrats, for the Green Party or Black Panthers, for Sesame Street or Fraggle Rock…!

Come on, people! Need I reference the recent discussion about torture? This kind of devious thinking that the ends justify the means bears horrible fruit for everyone involved.

I am increasingly convicted to vote for those I believe in, and not just the “lesser of two evils.” I am increasingly convinced that we need to honorably truly live out what we believe, in order to be “change” that everyone references.

Is there something I’m missing here?

By the way, please don’t interpret this as a personal condemnation for anyone…if you did vote for someone “falsely,” I would love to hear your reasoning, rationalization, and opinion. Am I exaggerating the ethics of this issue? Is there a time when this is a good thing to do? Are we truly in such a time when such a moral/ethical compromise is good and right?

EDIT: The self-righteous prig -ness of this is said with a healthy raise of the eyebrow at myself.

10 responses

  1. ian

    Who are the conservatives thinking is the weakest Democratic candidate?

    March 28, 2008 at 11:12 am

  2. Ian, from what I’ve heard, conservatives are switching to registered democrats to vote against Clinton. Not because they want Obama in office, but because the believe that Hilary in office will bring the apocalypse and thusly the second coming of Christ. sigh… what fools the mortals be.

    I actually didn’t give it much thought when i heard people talk about it (I’ve heard about 3 people that did it), but now that you mention it, it is rather dubious. But when it comes to politics, i kind of have this pessimistic view of both the Democrats and Republicans being rather shady and duplicitous characters, so this was no shocker. I do think it’s kind of petty (though wouldn’t go as far as calling it a sin), but it sounds like the people that are switching tickets really think they are doing the world a favor, and it helps them sleep at night because they’ve done what they thought was best for the USA. Unfortunately, what is best for the America is probably what the founding fathers wanted: unskewed voting.

    Well, that’s my opinion on the subject! Haha, I’m sure it means a lot to all of you :P

    March 29, 2008 at 4:18 pm

  3. it matters! thanks for sharing.

    i think the reason i went so far as to call it a sin is because those on the right/conservatives usually claim a pretty tight monopoly on ethics and morality. therefore, i tend to view this potential violation of said morality as quite hypocritical and quite possibly, lying–which is often a sin, in my book.

    that said, maybe they’re just being well-intentioned and foolish…’cause i do think this really does lead to an overall breakdown in public honesty and morality. which is something we’ve seen too much of and railed an awful lot against…

    March 29, 2008 at 9:09 pm

  4. ian

    Now, I didn’t hear what you heard, so I may be coming from a different place, but I know tons of people who have re-registered as democrats to vote in the PA primaries. They are all voting for Obama. In this case, I believe they really do want him in the white house, but I don’t think it’s such a bad thing to vote against an opposing candidate in the primaries. I would do it. As a voting American I think that my voice should say something in the primaries, and I would like a say in who does or does not get on the ticket. So if Christians are switching to vote against Hillary, I don’t mind. I don’t think it is a lie to not want someone getting the democratic nomination.

    March 30, 2008 at 3:55 am

  5. ian,

    i think you’re right–as long as they honestly prefer obama to clinton (as i myself do). however, if they’re just doing it to cause “chaos” or to cause any kind of confusion or to help ensure that the republicans win–THAT i have major issues with.

    March 30, 2008 at 2:19 pm

  6. paul heggie

    i am honestly having a hard time deciding on a candidate i truly believe in, as well as a hard time avoiding the “lesser of two evils” mentality. i’m currently at such a stalemate that i’m wondering if i should/could vote at all (with a clear conscience). does this resonate with anyone else?

    March 30, 2008 at 7:13 pm

  7. Laura

    If I didn’t vote for the lessor of two evils I’d have never voted at all…

    March 31, 2008 at 9:16 pm

  8. ET

    Whoa, wait?! Ian and I agree on something? :-)
    I don’t know who on earth would actually change parties to vote just to through the whole thing into chaos there JD, but I think every vote is basically for the lesser of two evils. Though, I disagree that Hillary would bring the second coming of Christ. If He hasn’t come already, He won’t be coming for a while. I think Obama is JUST as bad- but is the lesser of two evils mostly because, and yes, I will accept being called a chauvinist because I know people don’t know me, but I would not vote for a woman for office- yes, gasp, that even means republican. I still am confused, JD, how you think it is lying and hypocritical to want to exercise the American right to vote…I mean, you don’t vote independent in every election..sooooo….what is it you are doing? No, I could read between the lines and could tell you are just steamed about some hot-headed talk-show host who gets paid too much to do too little. But just as you thought my moral ethics were being screwed by my voting choice, I wonder if perhaps the WTF should have just been spelled out, and if that wasn’t also a ethical hiccup? :-)
    ~ET

    March 31, 2008 at 10:38 pm

  9. I just typed out this 3 page long comment, only to hit submit and get an error saying I need to enter my email… I was so close to trying to type it all again…

    Not gonna happen.

    Heggie, I’m voting for Obama. His heart is in the right place and I trust that more than experience right now. His inspiring movement is all about the people making the difference, not the governement. Frankly, I don’t trust the government to make my life better. That’s up to us, and he is the only candidate addressing that consistently. Ask me for more details if you’d like…

    April 1, 2008 at 12:49 am

  10. Elisha etc,

    Thanks for sharing. It’s been good to hear–and I readily concede that I overreacted a bit. It’s precisely why I asked for elaboration! Thanks to everyone for obliging.

    My biggest point that I still hold, however, is that I do think it is important for us to vote for whom we want in office, and not try to play the game or manipulate politics.

    Without us being true to our consciences, no change will ever occur. Without us voting “honestly,” we cannot claim any moral high ground.

    If you can vote in the primaries, with your main and only intention to voice your own honest preference for whom you want to serve the country–so be it! Go for it.

    And then don’t complain if they get elected.

    Above all, just don’t do anything you would ridicule the other side for doing…

    Jake, you better type it out again, or else. I know where you live

    BTW, Elisha, although I called into question your primary voting, we actually agree on the situation more than you might think.

    April 1, 2008 at 1:58 pm

Leave a Reply

