pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Impeachment?

Unless Bush offers a substitute plan to the bill he banned yesterday, I do believe I would wholeheartedly support impeachment (for him and Mr. Cheney).

Wow.

I would hate to be him and be responsible for abdicating responsibility on this issue–or just as bad, taking it and not doing anything about it.

Wow.

This will be an enormous issue in the upcoming election, if any of the candidates have any sense.

Wow.

Am I missing something here? Yes, maybe we need to be careful to allow some of these interrogation techniques…I can see the whole “good cop/bad cop” being vital and not that unethical. But holy crap.

Wow.

I tremble for the affects and effects these practices and the condoning of these practices will have around the world, on our own men and women perpetuating them, and between us and God.

This honestly may be the most ashamed I have ever been for my country and my government. I’ve traveled around the world and I have never been embarrassed to be an American, up until now. I don’t care what kind of criminal you are, this is not right. I don’t care what we need to find out–simple execution is far better than this.

I am well aware that the foe is evil, sometimes beyond comprehension. But descending to the same level in unspeakably wrong…we are in the process of abdicating much (if not all) of any moral/spiritual/ethical/humanitarian high ground there ever might have been.

That must change.

It has to change.

4 responses

  1. ian

    Insane…

    March 9, 2008 at 6:41 am

  2. Laura

    It’s pretty clear that the philosophy of the present administration is do what you want to do and never admit that your wrong. But then torture has been, if not conducted by our governement, conducted by other governments with our encouragement. See http://www.thenation.com/doc/20071112/mulvaney

    Well, you can’t impeach a president for vetoing a bill. And it’s a lot of trouble. Better to elect a new one. I’m not sure we’ll get a better one.

    Being an American is nothing to be ashamed about, but it’s nothing to be pround of either.

    Oh, my. In happier news… Hmmm… Your little sisters rock! I’m glad they blog too.

    March 9, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  3. Laura,

    I think that such policies could very well be classified as “high crimes and misdemeanors,” and thus be totally suited to an impeachment proceeding. I also think the deception and abuse of the executive office in this case very well may exceed Clinton lying under oath about not keeping his pants on.

    If we do not radically distance ourselves from these practices, denounce them, and put standards in place to avoid them…then yes, as I said, I would definitely feel twinges of shame for the first time. I realize this is a loaded term–I’ve heard college students cheaply abuse it for the most ridiculous of reasons.

    To me, this is not a ridiculous reason.

    I don’t necessarily think any other country is “better,” nor am I about to “flee to Canada,” (something the vocal whiners from both the left AND the right like to threaten). But as I said, I truly tremble for the consequences of such policies and procedures, just as much (and probably much more than) I do for even unjust war.

    (laugh). I’m glad you enjoy my family! They crack me up.

    March 9, 2008 at 4:03 pm

  4. Nate

    I agree. I feel slightly ill just thinking about some of this.

    March 9, 2008 at 7:17 pm

Leave a Reply

