pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

a story about the war

From Rolling Stone: the Myth of the Surge.

It’s a thought provoking, well-written article. Which is weird, because (ironically enough) their music and film reviews suck. Majjjjor suck. Not to mention the magazine has also historically been a self-parody of liberalism–and I have many liberal leanings.

Regardless, I highly recommend reading the article, and not just writing it off because of its source. And I’d love to know your thoughts. The story of the children who compliment the soldiers to their faces and then curse them out behind their backs is particularly telling, on many levels.

I am confident that there is bias in the article and perhaps it isn’t the most accurate picture to come through. But speaking as someone who has traveled the Middle East just a bit, I tend to suspect there’s an awful lot of truth to it. If there is, the author’s contention that we are arming them for an impeding civil war is truly alarming.

I was talking to a friend yesterday about the biggest issue of the election (the war). He was contending that at this point, he thinks we are mucking up the situation so badly that it would be better for us to leave before we continue to complicate and ruin things.

After reading this article, I’m prone to consider that argument like I never have before.

Your thoughts?

Will either candidate be able to address the situation well? Do we really think Obama will get us out faster and smoother than McCain? Will McCain really be able to handle this with dignity and compassion, and effective military leadership that avoids another Vietnam?
I haven’t made up my mind yet on any of these vital questions, so I am not trying to lead you on.

2 responses

  1. ET

    Like Vietnam? Didn’t we just run from Vietnam too?
    I think I’m giving up talking about it since I don’t know that much. I tend to think we should stay though but perhaps be more deliberate in our tactics.
    And when you say liberal, do you mean super liberal? Wouldn’t you consider yourself liberal? Or perhaps independent…as all people who don’t want to admit to either leaning do? (Sorry, that wasn’t meant to be as mean as it sounded!)

    ~ET

    February 27, 2008 at 8:18 am

  2. I am registered independent, which means I pick and choose stances from both “sides” (which are actually remarkably similar in action–downright identical, in fact)…yes. I’m not sure that any political label fits? I think the more appropriate statement is that I’m a Christian who cares about how my nation treats itself and the rest of the world. The labels always seem to be shifting.

    February 27, 2008 at 8:47 am

Leave a Reply

