pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Larry Norman kicked the can

You can read more here.

I encourage y’all to read it. If Phil Keaggy embodies all that is innocent and good about the Jesus Movement and CCM, Larry Norman personified all that was broken and frail…and captivating and beautiful. I had the privilege of seeing him a good six years or so ago and I remember being impressed that he was unafraid to challenge and love (for better and for worse).

Recently, his life and all its hideous sins and touching triumphs has in many ways come to sum up the Jesus Movement for me, along with the life of Lonnie Frisbee.

My parents embraced relationship with Jesus during their time (indeed, they were at meetings that LF was present at), so in many ways, I have much to be thankful for–and decipher. I find it fascinating to see how people encountered a genuine move of the Spirit during that time and how they responded (again, for both better and for worse).

I recommend anyone who is interested in finding out about that time to listen, read, observe, ponder…and you will, perhaps, understand the current faith landscape of our country a bit better.

EDIT: Randy Stonehill has released a statement via his myspace blog that is truly priceless…given the tumultuous history between the two, I find the forgiveness and reconciliation between them rather…well, beautiful. Speaking myself as someone who has lived through some pretty nasty crap between people, I agree with the growing hope of heaven and I resonate with the message of the hope for redemption.

2 responses

  1. Jen

    I miss you!

    February 26, 2008 at 11:37 am

  2. I heard that yesterday too and was so sad, yet so happy that he is with the One who he sang about and rejoiced in.
    I like that you like the old timers and show such respect.

    February 26, 2008 at 2:16 pm

Leave a Reply

