pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Juno

Last night, we watched Juno.

Sidenote: A pirated copy–which I did not procure or facilitate. Yet, I watched it. Hmm. I’m not sure what the moral implications of this are…

Regardless, the film is simply stellar. I wholeheartedly recommend that everyone watch it. It’s funny enough to draw everyone in (think Gilmore Girls at their most promising…damn, I just referenced the @#$$# Gilmore Girls??!) and it’s deep enough to engage the brain of anyone who wants to engage said apparatus.

It’s been interesting for me, having read about this movie for some time before…but it seems that this and other recent movies have even challenged a number of hardened critics to rethink their stances on abortion.

I find this fascinating.

It is my hypothesis that both the left and the right have made this issue such a political, polarizing hot topic that the humanity of each and every case has been very, very lost. I am glad there are films coming out now that do not have an agenda, but merely tell human story with sympathy, insight, humor…and considerable emotion.

A lot of times, life speaks for itself the most effectively.

It’s interesting, isn’t it, that Jesus spoke in story? And then he let his words speak for themselves, to those that had ears to hear.

I look forward to following this up at some point in the near future with 4 Months, 3 Weeks, and 2 Days, a Romanian film that takes a much grittier look at a story drawing from similar basic plot material.

Leave a Reply

