pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Gird up my loins….(like a man)

For my new job, I have to wear an old tool-belt. Which I am starting to slowly fill up with new (expensive, but useful) tools and my older, cheaper ones.

I feel cool when I wear said belt.

I also look like a redneck nerd.

It feels like I’m a gun-slinger, the way the dirty, sweat-stained leather rides low on my hips.

It feels weighed down, like I have a sword hanging down my leg, instead of a cheap hammer that knocks against my knee-cap.

I have no delusions of grandeur about what I’m doing and how inexperienced I am.

But sometimes it feels cool…despite everything.

4 responses

  1. Laura

    A redneck nerd? – Not likely. You’re mom in law told me that you were starting a new job.

    Rock on!

    February 6, 2008 at 12:50 pm

  2. Tom

    what!? a sweat stained tool belt!?
    dude, you know you’re supposed to wear that over clothes…..

    February 6, 2008 at 2:21 pm

  3. haha. well said. well, it was given to me pre-used…

    gross.

    February 6, 2008 at 2:40 pm

  4. Susanna

    my dad wears an old leather tool belt at work………you know what that means, don’t you?

    February 6, 2008 at 9:32 pm

Leave a Reply

