pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Chris Thile interview…and Switchfoot

For years, one of my favorite bands has been Nickelcreek, especially after their last album. I loved the bombast and sheer anger, most of which was attributed to Thile’s divorce.

This is the first interview that I’ve found with him that acknowledges him losing his faith, as well. It’s chiefly sad to me, and reinforces my opinion that the public spotlight is a crap place for family and faith.

Trite as it sounds, I wish him the best. And hope he finds what he’s looking for…

And that his other bandmates make that record with Switchfoot they keep talking about.

Speaking of which, Jon Foreman’s solo records sound refreshingly good. Really good. ‘Cause let’s face it, Oh Gravity was alarmingly disposable. And their live bootlegs are disappointingly rough. But listen to his eps and his exceedingly welcome escape from his song-writing rut of the last three album. It’s really good.

3 responses

  1. Katie

    Did I just read that you said your favorite band is Nickelback?

    January 25, 2008 at 9:38 pm

  2. Krista

    I have to say that I think it’s normal for even the strongest person of faith to question at times. If we don’t admit to struggles with faith, truth, eternity and our “reality” on earth – reconciling all of those things – then we’re frauds. I’m very strong in my faith, yet I grapple with a lot of the same issues. Let’s not pass judgement on Chris Thile for searching. It’s okay to ask tough questions and doubt . . . it’s part of the process of discovering our true faith and not that of our parents.

    Thanks for posting the article!

    December 5, 2008 at 2:24 pm

  3. Krista,

    Thanks for commenting! I certainly intend no judgment of Thile in sharing the article–I just found it interesting, especially as a person of faith who struggles with a lot of the same questions that he does (but so far arrives at different conclusions). Any commentary I said above was intended to be purely sympathetic.

    Josh

    October 3, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Leave a Reply

