pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

more film blurbs

Sophie Scholl:The Final Days–An amazing, character-driven independent film that fully explores just about every individual it introduces. Surprisingly well-acted (with the exception of her attorney) and well-shot (with the exception of some of the tv-lighting-glow). Sophie’s grappling with truth and the dire consequence of death gripped all those I watched the film with…and challenged us to think about moral slippery slopes. After watching this movie, I was all the more challenged to oppose torture, no matter how many lives it “saves.” This was not an overt argument of the movie, by any means, but its stand for righteousness and its depiction of men who have compromised is both absolutely sobering and truly heart-breaking.

Heima–A music video/”documentary” as pretentious and absurd as Sigur Ros themselves. And as achingly beautiful and captivating. The movie could easily double as a travelogue for Iceland (and that’s a good thing). Some of the visuals were rather dubious at first…such as the reversed shots of waterfalls. But in time, their simplicity drew you in and deeper into what we were watching, as trippy and mesmerizing as the music itself. The interviews were the greatest weakness on the disk and could have been condensed into two minutes of meaningful dialogue. Then again, what else would you expect from a band that gave this historic talk to NPR?

Grizzly Man–The most intimate, deepest personal biography/documentary I have ever seen, with some of the most fascinating, complex discussions of environmentalism, troubled psychology, and confused spirituality ever depicted. And it’s all (purportedly) real…the scope of what this movie addressed or attempted to address was staggering, perhaps simply because it honestly showed a complete portrait of someone in a hundred and forty minutes. I was impressed by its ability to tackle such convoluted and intricate subject matter and still have something to say amidst all its post-modern-tinged depiction. Bravo. And wow. Grizzlies are big bears. And poor, confused Californians make good snacks (as do all furries. Maybe that’s what Colbert is really hiding).

Being John Malkovich–“Can’t you just be entertained?” I was asked after seeing this film. To which I firmly reply: “No.” I hated everything about this movie and found nothing insightful, thought-provoking, or interesting about it. I cannot be entertained by something unless there is a reason for me to be entertained by it. There were no reasons here, because I am not amused by skewed sexual behavior, mind possession, relational unfaithfulness, or any of the other slew of shallow behaviors shown without any artistic provocation to cause the viewer to think or consider. Some of the puppetry shots were beautiful (but that’s what youtube is for). No, overall this was an ugly movie in every way imaginable, with no redemption of any kind for the ugliness shown. If I wanted that, I’d have picked up the P.O.S. rags at the supermarket or watched daytime television.

5 responses

  1. I remember seeing Sophie Scholl on TV a while back. Touching and impressive film. Absolutely loved it.

    Grizzly Man is allegedly based on real footage. I haven’t seen it yet, but from what I’ve heard then during the “man eaten by bear” scene the claim is that the lens cap was on and so we don’t see the man get mauled. However Kevin Smith claimed in one interview that the lens cap was not on and that he has actually seen the hidden footage. So I’m guessing it’s real.

    If you hated Being John Malkovich you might enjoy Adaptation which is written by the same guy. It’s not exactly entertainment, but it’s a very unique recursive film with impressive acting by Nicholas Cage.

    December 16, 2007 at 10:05 pm

  2. Susanna

    ew. I can’t stand Nicholas Cage.

    I watched Sophie Scholl (finally) this year. it was fantastic. I cry so easily at films like that, though, so it’s good I watched it alone. Grin. have you seen Dear Frankie?

    December 17, 2007 at 6:06 am

  3. Nope, haven’t seen it. But Dear Frankie is the inspiration for one of the greatest inventions in both science and film: watch the video :)

    A friend of mine is working in a very similar field.

    December 17, 2007 at 1:33 pm

  4. That is a great video, Elver. Thanks.

    Susanna, I did enjoy “Dear Frankie.” I think the acting/dialogue saved it from being cliche or merely manipulative…and yes, it was predictable, but I liked it more than I thought I would.

    December 17, 2007 at 9:59 pm

  5. Andrew

    josh, I also enjoyed (if you can call it that) sophie scholl: the final days. I had to watch it for a film class this past semester..

    December 19, 2007 at 3:02 am

Leave a Reply

