pictures. words (sometimes). blog nonsense.

Some snapshots

IMG_2676

Last week, I casually mentioned to my coworker that I was looking for a free piano. He called me back later that day, having spotted an ad for a free 5′ baby grand in the bargain sheets (you haul).

A baby grand.

So, I discreetly called once my girl wasn’t around. I got the answering machine, but left a rambling missive.

I got a call back on our way to the Eisley/Mutemath show last Friday at the Sonar in Baltimore. (Short review: Mutemath was blaahh, Eisley was cool). I passed off the phone call as some sort of secret re. Thanksgiving break; an explanation which Kirsten eventually accepted.

That Sunday, I encouraged Kirst to do her homework while Jeremy and I went to “jam–” aka, check out the piano in secret.

IMG_2687

After googling Steiff pianos, I wasn’t expecting much. Other examples had included carved American eagles and curly Victorian embellishments.

But once we walked in the door, I knew good things were in store. The thing looked gorgeous. The owners were beautifully generous and eager to see it go to a good home, having inherited it from a grandmother and not playing the instrument themselves.

IMG_2683

So, I commenced to the next step: googling “how to move a grand piano” while continuing to blithely encourage Kirsten to study each evening. I bgan to call movers and tuners.

Then I found out that most people charge at least three hundred dollars in our area to move said articles (which often weigh up to a thousand pounds). That was it. We’d have to move it ourselves.

IMG_2682

Jeremy and I talked and formulated our plan. We’d get all the guys from our men’s group in on the action while Kirsten was away at Bible study.

I got off work late that rainy night and waited for thirty minutes in the uhaul for the lady to leave the house. Then I hightailed it home, collected the guys, and went to work.

All in all, eight of us got that thing moved–and it only cost me seventy bucks. That said, I don’t recommend it for the faint of heart. It took us two hours and lots of sore muscles to move it five miles.

I couldn’t believe it when we got it in the door, uprighted it, and screwed the legs back on–nothing was broken.

IMG_2688

Kirsten screamed when she came home, late that night.

“What is that? Is it ours? Ahh!”

Mission: successful.

For a basic rundown of our moving procedure, check this out.

The piano has been appraised with an “as is” value of 2,500, with a recommended 1,000 worth of internal to be done. All the keys work, tho, and the tone is decent to good–so our first step is merely to have it tuned.

3 responses

  1. Becky

    Hey Josh,
    Wow so cool!!! Also how thoughtful and romantic( at least it seemed that way when you wrote about). Now I really can´t wait to visit your apartment and try it out. I love and miss you both!!!
    Becky

    October 29, 2007 at 8:25 pm

  2. Elisha Bomberger

    NO WAY! I heard something about a piano but wow! That is super cool!!
    ~ET

    October 31, 2007 at 12:40 pm

  3. Gabe

    Nuh uh! That’s amazing! I can’t believe they were just giving it away. Next you’re going to find a mint condition upright bass…

    November 4, 2007 at 11:52 am

Leave a Reply

